Srikant Kumar Jena
Member of Parliament,Balasore
"Karmanye Vadhikaraste Ma Phaleshu Kadachana,
Ma Karma Phala Hetur Bhurmatey Sangostvakarmani"


Shri Srikant Kumar Jena was born in Ratnagiri, District of Jajpur, Odisha and graduated from Kendrapara College, Utkal.

Mr. Jena began his political career during his student life and served on many different positions at the state and national level in India.Shri Srikant Kumar Jena, 62, Congress MP from Balasore constituency of Odisha, was union minister in the United Front government as a member of the Janata Dal.

He was appointed Minister of State, Industry and Urban Development, Government of India in 1979.

He served as the president of Yuva Janta of Odisha State and was elected for three consecutive terms to the Odisha State Legislative Assembly.He has been Member Parliament thrice since 1989 to 1998.

Shri Srikant Kumar Jena was jailed twice during the national emergency.

He has been a three time Member Parliament from Janata Dal and won this time from Balasore constituency on a Congress ticket. Shri Srikant Jena was a legislator for 12 years till 1989.

In 1996, he served as Union Cabinet Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Tourism in Government of India and in 1990, he was appointed as Union Minister of State, Small Scale Industry, Agro and Rural Industries.

In 1991, he was appointed Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee for Science and Technology.

Presently Mr. Srikant Kumar Jena is serving his fourth term in Indian National Parliament (Lok Sabha).In August 2011, he has been appointed Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, Government of India, in addition to his charge as the Union Minister of State, Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers.